Creamy Cantaloupe Mint Soup

In my opinion, one of the key advantages of all this soup-making is that often I can decide to make something that’s going to help use up whatever I happen to have a surplus of in the kitchen. And that’s exactly how this Creamy Cantaloupe Mint Soup was created. Last Thursday I got a little preview share from my CSA, which will officially begin in a few weeks (and undoubtedly exert an influence over my soup-making, and this blog, in the coming months). Anyway, the preview share was mostly delicious radishes, which I promptly ate up in two days, and bunches of some fresh herbs, including a large supply of mint. And for me, when I see a big bunch of mint, of course I think mojitos, so I’ve been living on mojitos and radishes with butter and baguette for the last few days (not a bad existence at all, I’ll admit).

So today when I still had some mint to use up, plus the sugar syrup from the mojito recipes, I tried to think about what soup I could concoct with them. I also noticed that cantaloupes were on sale at the grocery this weekend and decided to pull all of these together into a quick and easy summer soup. I found this recipe online and adapted it to what I had around, and thus Creamy Cantaloupe Mint Soup was born.

Creamy Cantaloupe Mint Soup
yield about 4 servings

INGREDIENTS
1 large cantaloupe (yield about 4 cups)
8 oz plain whole or lowfat (not non-fat, and not Greek) yogurt
6-8 fresh mint leaves
3 oz sugar syrup (or about 2 T sugar)
1/4 cup white wine (Riesling or Muscat would be best, but any fruity white option will probably work fine)
1/2 T pure vanilla extract (or to taste), or seeds from 1 vanilla pod
juice from 1 lime
additional mint leaves for garnish

PROCEDURE
1. Add the melon and yogurt to a food processor. Puree well.
2. Add the mint leaves, sugar syrup, and vanilla. Puree again.
3. Add the lime juice and puree a little more. Taste for consistency and puree until desired.
4. Can be eaten immediately, although for best results chill before serving.

0 Responses to “Creamy Cantaloupe Mint Soup”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

